Peter Meusburger Doctoral Prize ‘Geography and Knowledge’ 2021

To honour the memory of our academic teacher and in appreciation of his distinguished service to geography (in particular, geography of education), the Peter Meusburger Doctoral Prize will be awarded for the third time in 2021. The prize, founded by some of his students, will amount to €2,000. The prize will be awarded for a PhD thesis (monograph or cumulative works) that shows outstanding scientific achievement in the field of ‘Geography and Knowledge’. The dissertation must have been completed in 2020 or 2021. It can be written in either German or English. There are no restrictions with regard to the age or place of residence of the applicant.

The applications will be assessed and evaluated by reviewers with disciplinary expertise selected and appointed by the prize donors. The prize will be awarded with no right of appeal. Should none of the applications meet the quality expectations of the prize panel, the trust may decide to make no award and to carry the sum of money over to the following year. 

Applications must be sent to the following address by 31 July 2021

Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München
Department für Geographie
Prof. Dr. Jürgen Schmude
Luisenstr. 37
80333 München

An application must include two printed copies and an electronic version of the PhD thesis, a curriculum vitae of the author as well as the reviews of the supervisors and/or examiners. The awards ceremony will be held in Heidelberg in December 2021.